### **Public Document Pack**



## Supplement 2 for

COUNCIL - WEDNESDAY, 24 MAY 2023

The following documents are enclosed:

Item 9 – Annex A (political proportionalities) and Annex B (committee nominations)



#### Annex A: Political proportionalities on committees 2023-24

Seats on committees are allocated based on the principles set out in the Local Government and Housing At 1989 (Section 15). The allocation of seats to political groups has been reviewed based on the political composition of the Council following elections held on 4 May 2023:

Liberal Democrat: 21 Conservative: 9

Green: 2

Independent (non-grouped): 2

Table 1: Initial seat allocations

Committee	Seats	Lib Dem	Con	Green	Total	Balance
Overview and	10	6	3	I	10	0
Scrutiny						
Planning and	П	7	3	1	11	0
Licensing						
Performance and	7	4	2	0	6	-1
Appointments						
Audit and	7	4	2	0	6	-1
Governance						
Total seats allocated	35	21 (22)	10 (9)	2 (2)	33 (35)	-2
(entitlement)						

#### Steps to allocate remaining seats:

- I. Conservative Group to offer up one seat due to overall over-allocation of one seat (Performance and Appointments).
- 2. Liberal Democrat Group to select one of three unallocated seats due to an overall under-allocation of one seat (Performance and Appointments).
- 3. Non-grouped Independent members to be offered the final two unallocated seats (Audit and Governance and Performance and Appointments).

Table 2: Final seat allocation after adjustments

Committee	Seats	Lib	Con	Green	Ind	Total	Balance
		Dem					
Overview and Scrutiny	10	6	3	I	0	10	0
Planning and Licensing	11	7	3	I	0	П	0
Performance and	7	5	I	0	1	7	0
Appointments							
Audit and Governance	7	4	2	0	I	7	0
Total seats allocated	35	22	9	2	2	35	0
Rounded entitlement	33	22	9	2	N/A	34	-2
	32.94	21.62	*	2.06		33.97	-2 -2.06
Real entitlement	32.74	21.62	9.26	2.06	N/A	33.77	-2.06
% of seats allocated		(62.86)	(25.71)	(5.71)	(5.71)	(100)	(0)



Annex B: Committee nominations 2023/24

Committee (# seats)	Liberal Democrat Group	Conservative Group	Green Group	Independent (non- grouped)
Audit and Governance (7)	Nigel Robbins (Chair)	I. Len Wilkins		I. Chris Twells
	2. Clare Muir (Vice Chair)	2. Jeremy Theyer		
	3. Helene Mansilla			
	4. Patrick Coleman			
Overview and Scrutiny (10)	Gary Selwyn (Vice Chair)	I. Gina Blomefield (Chair)	I. Clare Turner	
	2. Roly Hughes	2. David Cunningham		
	3. Dilys Neill	3. Tony Slater		
	4. Michael Vann			
	5. Angus Jenkinson			
	6. Jon Wareing			
Performance and	Joe Harris (Chair)	I. David Cunningham		I. Nikki Ind
Appointments (7)	2. Mike Evemy (Vice Chair)			
	3. Clare Muir			
	4. Juliet Layton			
	5. Angus Jenkinson			
Planning and Licensing (11)	Ray Brassington (Chair)	I. Julia Judd	I. Andrew Maclean	
	2. Patrick Coleman (Vice Chair)	2. David Fowles		
	3. Dilys Neill	3. Daryl Corps		
	4. Michael Vann	_		
	5. Mark Harris			
	6. Ian Watson			
	7. Gary Selwyn			

# Working Groups for appointment by Council

Constitution Working	I. Joe Harris (Chair)	I. David Fowles
Group (6)	2. Mike Evemy (Vice Chair)	2. Len Wilkins
,	3. Juliet Layton	
	4. Nigel Robbins	
Member Development	Lisa Spivey (Chair)	I. Julia Judd
Steering Group (3)	2. Claire Bloomer	